Searching for Wind Band Music? Visit the Wind Band Music Shop
We've found 30 matches for your search


  • £69.95

    HORN CONCERTO (Gregson) (Horn Solo with Brass Band) - Gregson, Edward

    Horn in F/E flat with Brass BandComposed in 1971 for Ifor James, the Concerto for French Horn and Band revealed some of those elements that have made Gregson’s music so popular with audiences (and not just brass band audiences) worldwide: the boldness of his melodies, with the interval of the fourth revealing his admiration for the music of Paul Hindemith; his incisive rhythms, betraying the influence of another favourite composer, B?la Bart?k; an admirable economy of means; and the clarity of his scoring.Each of the Concerto’s three movements displays a different facet of the French Horn’s character. The first is serious, symphonic in impulse, the rising fourths of the opening gesture giving the music an almost Germanic weight. In the slow movement, the soloist becomes the first among equals, sharing with the cornet soloist some typically haunting melodies. The lyrical flow is interrupted at the mid-point by mysterious, fleet-of-foot cadenzas. A rondo finale brings the concerto to a lighthearted conclusion. The rising fourths here are the impulse for a jaunty theme which reveals another of Gregson’s early influences – William Walton, and in particular that composer’s Partita for orchestra.

    Estimated delivery 12-14 days
  • £28.95

    RONDO FROM HORN CONCERTO No.3 (Tenor Horn/Brass Band) - Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus - Siebert, Edrich

    Tenor Horn Solo & Brass Band. A separate Piano Accompaniment edition is also available.

    Estimated delivery 12-14 days
  • £64.95

    Concerto for Tenor Horn - Lucy Pankhurst - -

    I wrote this tenor horn concerto for Owen Farr in 2002, whilst we were both studying at the RNCM in Manchester. I had never heard a brass player like Owen before and was stunned by his technical brilliance as well as his musicality. Also, being at college myself, and exploring the horn repertoire in more detail, I wanted to write something which showed the versatility of the instrument and used more of the extreme range. This was my first attempt at a large-scale work.I actually gave the premiere of the 2nd movement in my final degree recital, but Owen gave the first official premiere of the full work at Birmingham Conservatoire in 2005.

    Estimated delivery 5-7 days
  • £7.50
  • £27.50

    Rondo Horn Concerto No. 4 - Mozart - Jordan, D

    In stock: Estimated delivery 1-2 days

     PDF View Music

  • £64.95

    Concerto for Tenor Horn - Gareth Wood - -

    Gareth Wood's Concerto for Tenor Horn was commissioned by the Welsh Amateur Music Federation with additional funding from the Arts Council of Wales and the PRS Foundation. The work was written for Owen Farr and the National Youth Brass Band of Wales.It is in a traditional three movement form demonstrating the agility and lyricism of the tenor horn. The soloist begins alone with a singing melody in 5/4 time, and is soon joined by the Eb tuba and solo cornet. The rest of the band later emerge, leading the music into a strident Allegro. After a short tutti the soloist takes charge and a dialogue of melodic and rhythmic ideas follows. After a brief return to the opening theme the movement closes with a flourish. The second movement is a true Adagio. A profound beginning, almost hymn like, leads into a gentle melody which builds into a large tutti for band. A rhythmic section follows, rhapsodic in nature ending in a return to the melody used at the very beginning of the concerto. After another short tutti section the movement gently fades away. The finale is a combination of technical fireworks and an almost latin melody, both soloist and band finishing with great aplomb!Gareth Wood's Concerto for Tenor Horn received its world premiere by Owen Farr and the National Youth Brass Band of Wales under the direction of Dr. Robert Childs during their Summer Course of 2006 at Bangor University's Pritchard-Jones Concert Hall, North Wales.

    Estimated delivery 5-7 days
  • £64.95

    EUPHONIUM CONCERTO No.1 (Sparke) (Brass Band - Score and Parts) - Sparke, Philip

    This concerto has its origins in a concerto for horn and brass band, commissioned by the River City Brass Band (Pittsburgh) in 1992.It was composed at the request of British euphonium virtuoso, Steven Mead, and first performed by him with the Breeze Brass Band in Osaka, Japan, in 1995.In conventional three-movement form, performed without a break, the concerto covers the panoply of the euphonium’s range and character. The first movement is marked Moderato e energico and is rhythmically energetic in style with many meter changes and much syncopation. Only in the central section does the soloist relax in cantabile mood.The second movement opens with tuned percussion taking centre stage, laying for the foundations for a long cantilena from the soloist in resigned mood, but with a touch of optimism. After a central climax for the band, this melody returns, with soloists from the band answering in counterpoint. The finale is a 6/8 romp in caccia style (betraying its origins as a piece for horn). Again, the central section is more legato in mood, though the band keeps the eighth-note figures present throughout. The movement ends in a bravura display from the soloist.

    Estimated delivery 12-14 days