Searching for Wind Band Music? Visit the Wind Band Music Shop
We've found 2 matches for your search. Order by


  • £36.10

    Polka from 'The Bartered Bride' (Brass Band) Smetana arr. Rob Bushnell

    Considered a major contribution to the develop of Czech music, The Bartered Bride by Bedrich Smetana is a comic opera in three acts that premiered, in its final version, in 1870; having not been a great success when the original two-act version premiered at the Provisional Theatre, Prague on 30 May 1866. The opera was part of Smetana's aim to create a native Czech music after the conductor Johann von Herbeck commented that Czechs were incapable of making music of their own. Whilst he avoided the direct use of folksongs, Smetana did use numerous traditional Bohemian dance forms, such as the furiant and the polka, leading to music that was Czech in spirit. 'Sold Bride', a more accurate translation of the original Czech title (Prodana nevesta), tells the story of two lovers (Marenka and Jenik) who want to marry despite Marenka's father's obligations for his daughter to marry the son of a wealthy landowner, Micha. Scheming, condition proposals and secret identities leads to a happy ending. The polka was not in the original 1866 version. A revision in October 1866 saw the addition of a gypsy dance near the start of act 2. But by the next performance in January 1869, this had been replaced by a polka. In June 1869, a new polka replaced the January version's (as well as being moved to the end of act 1) and this is the one that we know and love today. This arrangement is for British-style brass band, with *alternative parts for horns in F and bass-clef lower brass. Instrumentation: Soprano Cornet Eb Solo Cornet Bb Repiano Cornet Bb 2nd Cornet Bb 3rd Cornet Bb Flugel Horn Bb Solo Horn Eb* 1st Horn Eb* 2nd Horn Eb* 1st Baritone Bb* 2nd Baritone Bb* 1st Trombone Bb* 2nd Trombone Bb* Bass Trombone Euphonium Bb* Bass Eb* Bass Bb* Timpani Percussion (Triangle, Cymbal(s) & Bass Drum)

    In stock: Estimated dispatch 1-3 days
  • £109.99

    Land of Legends - Andreas Ludwig Schulte

    In 'Land of Legends' German composer Andreas Ludwig (what's in a name) Schulte takes you along to the fictional world of legends, myths and fairy tales. The introduction to the first part (The Castle) describes the majestic contours of the scene of action. Its instrumentation (horns) immediately makes you imagine being in Medieval spheres. The addition of trenchant copper instruments even gives the part a heroic tinge. After entering through the gate, a lot of hustle and bustle appears to be going on in the courtyard. Pages, squires and soldiers are busy attending to their arms. Beer is being brewed, flax is being spun, cattle are being tended and some craftsmen fromneighbouring villages are busily at work. In the upper chamber of the round tower lives an old man (The Old Wizard). He hardly ever comes out, and nobody knows exactly what he is doing. It is said that he is engaged in wizardry and magic. It is all very mysterious. There are also festivities, some of them sober, others exuberant. The wedding in the third part is celebrated in a grand manner. With a flourish of trumpets, the bride makes her entrance at the hand of her father. Afterwards, at the party there is dancing to the music played by minstrels and of course a plentiful banquet follows.

    Estimated dispatch 5-14 working days

     PDF View Music