Searching for Wind Band Music? Visit the Wind Band Music Shop
We've found 20 matches for your search. Order by


  • £24.95

    Caelidh - Rodney Newton - Robert Childs

    Caelidh was commissioned by Robert and Lorraine Childs and given to their son David as an eighteenth birthday present. Composed by Rodney Newton in 1999 it was first performed by David with Brighouse and Rastrick Band in Huddersfield Town Hall...

    Estimated dispatch 4-7 working days
  • £34.95

    Horizons - Paul Lovatt-Cooper - Robert Childs

    Horizons was commissioned by the Ratby Co-Operative Band and their Musical Director Michael Fowles to celebrate their Centenary. The first performance was given in the presence of the composer in The De Montfort Hall, Leicester on September 16th 2006. When...

    Estimated dispatch 4-7 working days
  • £24.95

    The Big Top - Paul Lovatt-Cooper - Robert Childs

    This work was written for the Wardle High School Junior Brass Band as part of their programme at the National Festival of Music for Youth and first performed by the same band in Birmingham's Symphony Hall on 10th July 2006....

    Estimated dispatch 4-7 working days
  • £64.95

    The Dark Side of the Moon - Paul Lovatt-Cooper - Robert Childs

    This piece was commissioned by Dr. Nicholas Childs and Black Dyke Band on behalf of Rotary International and received its world premiere performance at St. David's Hall, Cardiff on Saturday 27th January 2007. It is dedicated to the composer's father,...

    Estimated dispatch 4-7 working days
  • £40.00

    Legends of Cyfarthfa - Matthew Hall

    Legends of CyfarthfaCombining the music of Joseph Parry and the legendary Cyfarthfa Band, Legends of Cyfarthfa is a technically challenging but musically rewarding concert work. Robert Crawshay owned the Cyfarthfa Ironworks in South Wales creating a business empire second to none.Cyfarthfa Castle was built by Crawshay as the family home from the income made via the ironworks. He wanted his own private band to play under the name of the ironworks with the best players in the world, playing on the highest quality instruments at the time. Employing the band members under the guise of iron workers, the Cyfarthfa Band was made up of virtuoso players, performing for the pleasure of the Crawshay dynasty.This virtuosity can be heard in some of the more technically challenging sections of Legends of Cyfarthfa. Joseph Parry was born in Cyfarthfa.He composed the first piece of music specifically written for brass band called Tydfil Overture for the Cyfarthfa Band, alongside many other memorable works for other instrumentation.Legends of Cyfarthfa incorporates many of Parry's works including his opera Blodwen, hymn tune Aberystwyth, folk melody Myfanwy and the Tydfil Overture, alongside many other melodies from Wales. Sospanfach, Men of Harlech, Lisa Lan and Calon Lan are just a number of the melodies that are used in this composition.The premiere performance was given by Tredegar Town Band under the direction of Ian Porthouse at the 2010 Brass in Concert Championships where it was awarded the Cyril Beere Memorial Trophy for Best New Composition or Arrangement. of Cyfarthfa

    Estimated dispatch 5-7 days
  • £124.95

    Hyperlink - Peter Graham

    Hyperlink was commissioned by the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain (funded by Arts Council England and the Department for Education) for its 70th Anniversary Year. Since the anniversary coincided with other significant celebrations in 2022 (including the Royal Albert Hall/Ralph Vaughan Williams 150th and the Platinum Jubilee of Elizabeth II) it was requested that these also be recognised in some way.

    Where better to begin this challenging brief but with a computer search for the NYBBGB founder Dr Denis Wright (coincidently born in Kensington, home of the RAH). The subsequent rabbit warren of hyperlinks led me to structure the work through a series of "associations":

    Movement I - The Voice of Jupiter.

    Alongside the discovery that Denis Wright had been a church organist was the realisation that while the RAH has hosted thousands of musical events the fabric of the building actually incorporates a musical instrument, the famous Henry Wills organ (aka The Voice of Jupiter).Organ and J S Bach are synonymous (e.g. Toccata in D min) and so both become fundamental to the content of the movement. An opening 7 note quote from the Toccata leads to a mammoth sound cluster, as if every note on the huge RAH organ is sustained. The material which follows is based upon the notes BACH (in German notation). The notes are manipulated in various ways in a 12 tone matrix; reversed, inverted and so on. Other techniques employed in the movement are ones of which Bach was master, including ground bass and fugue.

    Movement II - Remember Me.

    The lives of Salvationist composer Ray Steadman-Allen (born 1922) and Ralph Vaughan Williams are remembered here, with "RSA" in musical notation and fragments of RVWs famous Tuba Concerto providing the source material.While writing the movement my father passed away and to close his funeral service the family chose the uplifting Robert Lowry hymn They'll sing a welcome home. It seemed fitting to conclude the movement with a reflective setting of the chorus, the repeated phrase "Welcome, welcome home" eventually disappearing into the ether.

    Movement III - Vivat.

    The finale takes the form of a short fantasy upon Hubert Parry's marvellous coronation anthem I Was Glad, truly a celebratory note with which to conclude.The first performance of Hyperlink was given by the NYBBGB conducted by Martyn Brabbins at the Royal College of Music, London on August 6th 2022.

    In stock: Estimated dispatch 1-3 days

     PDF View Music